Shanley Family Branch – Connected

SHANLEY FAMILY BRANCH – CONNECTED!
Sometime ago I received a bunch of info on the Shanley branch of the family from Barbara Rightnour. I had seen this particular variation of the spelling of the family name but not very often. This spelling is also used by an Irish family that came to the US in the 1800’s.

Anyway… today I was finally able to make the connection to those descended from the immigrant Friederich Schienlin.

Barbara gave me the names of a number of individual Shanley’s back to a Clarence C. Shanely born 1895. I then found Clarence’s parents in the 1900 USCensus. His father was William born 1871 and mother Sarah born the same year. However I could go back no further.

I thought I had found them when I located a William Schonly, also born 1871 and his wife was Sarah -BUT- this William had died in 1897…. and my guy was still alive for the 1900 USCensus… so that was a dead end.

I then found an obituary of Sarah, wife of Willaim Shanley, orginally printed in the Reading Eagle, 1912. I learned that her maiden name was, Good. From there I was able to link this branch of the family to William, the son of Andreas S. Schonly and his wife Elisabeth Boyer. This william was the brother of my GGgrandfather Jacob B. Schoenly.

