Beginning to sort

Tonight I began sorting thru stacks of unorganized notes and documents.  In the process I came across four Civil War records of Schanelys.  During the Civil War period, I think Schanely was the most common spelling of the family name.

Anyway, three of the four (Albert, Jacob & Jefferson) joined the 17th Pennsylvania Cavalry in June of 1862.  These three remained with the 17th until the end of the war.  Another Jacob, 34 years of age,  was mustered in on April 20, 1861 and served a 3 month enlistment with the 4th Pennsylvania Infantry, Co. C.  Jacob was from Pottstown, PA and was a Mason by trade.  If I I remember correctly, there is a letter from a Jacob Schanely (in the Schwenkfelder’s Library in Bucks Co., PA) written to his Mennonite pastor from Washington DC during the Civil War.

My gggrandfather was Jacob B. Schoenly / Schanely married Maria Latshaw shortly before the Civil War.  The Latshaws were a Mennonite family and for a period I thought that this particular Schanely was Jacob B..  However,  Jacob B. Schanely would have not yet turned 30 years of age in 1861…. so I’ve discounted this possibility.

I also found an 1871 map of Upper Hanover Township in Montgomery County, PA outlining the plot of land owned by Abraham Schoenly… I’m guessing it was a farm.

